2019 Las Vegas Concours d Elegance

The NAACC is pleased to announce the introduction of the Inaugural Las Vegas Concours d Elegance held at the DragonRidge Country Club in MacDonald Highlands.

NAACC president John Carlson has been selected to be the Chief Judge for this event and all of Canada congratulates him on this honour. He is a Classic Car Club of America Master Judge and a past National President of the Vintage Car Club of Canada.

He is a multi-decade member the Model A Ford Club of America, Early Ford V8 Club, British Columbia Hot Rod Association, Vintage Racing Club of BC and the Allard Owners Club. He has been a Chief Class Judge many times at the prestigious Pebble Beach Concours and has served for well over 20 years. He is a permanent Chief Judge at the Hilton Head Concours, Arizona Concours, Cobble Beach Concours, Crescent Beach Concours, Vintage Car Club of Canada and the NAACC. He serves on the Steering Committee for the LeMay America’s Car Museum. He is a Charter Member of the International Chief Judges Advisory Group.

John Carlson has been inducted into three Motorsport Hall of Fames and was a recipient of the prestigious Lee Iacocca award in 2015. He is a retired Technology Education teacher and resides with his wife Koko of forty plus years in the seaside village of Belcarra British Columbia Canada.

This inaugural event has picked it’s feature car, the Phantom Corsair, also known as the Flying Wombat which also was the star of the the 1938 movie, The Young In Heart. The Phantom Corsair truly was the first car of the future.

“Created in 1938, this alluring automobile has been turning heads ever since with its spaceship-like body. On loan to us from the National Automobile Museum, Reno, this dream car is regarded as ahead of its time. Come see it in Las Vegas in person, October 26, 2019.”

The Inaugural Las Vegas Concours d’Elegance is changing things up a bit by having the Concours d’Elegance on Saturday October 26th with the Tour d’ Elegance on the following day, Sunday October 27th. This inaugural Concours will exhibit up to 200 select vehicles from the greatest collections in the world. The DragonRidge Country Club will host the Concours while the Tour d Elegance will be on the famous Las Vegas Strip.

Along with spectacular classic automobiles, remarkable present-day cars and some of the most daring automobile concepts of the future will be featured. Followed by the winner of the first ever Helene Award™ for “Best of Show”.


The Saturday Concours d’Elegance will exhibit an amazing collection of rare and unique Automobiles from around the world, most never before shown in Las Vegas. A trophy will be awarded to each of the class winners, and as a grand finale, we will reveal the winner of the first ever Helene Award for “Best of Show”.

  • Saturday, October 26, 2019, 9:00 am to 4:00 pm

    •             Hosted by the Exclusive Dragon Ridge Country Club

    •             Our “Fast Forward” showcase will feature insights into the future of Transportation Design presented by ArtCenter College of Design

    •             The winner of the first ever Helene Award for Best of Show

    •             Proceeds benefit the ArtCenter College of Design


On Sunday morning, October 27, thousands of eager fans will rush to see the Concours move to arguably the most famous street in the world, as our collectors drive their cars along the Las Vegas Strip without risk of traffic or damage. You won’t see that at any other venue in the world.

•             Sunday, October 27, 2019, 10:00 am to 12:00 noon.
•             Strip closure, police escorts, safety vehicles
•             Thrilling professional driving exhibitions
•             Free event along the Strip, open to the public

This event is affiliated with the International Chief Judge Advisory Group®

The International Chief Judge Advisory Group® (ICJAG)® is a group of experienced Chief Judges who support serious class judging focused on originality and authenticity. The charter membership includes nine Chief Judges from five countries. Other Canadian judges include Doug Keith, Nigel Matthews, Rob McLeese, David Carlson, Dr. JJ Carlson, Roy Shull, Ron Morris and Terry Johnson.